My First Fashion Intern Interview

So back in the spring, I sent out my CV to various Swiss fashion design companies, in hopes to gain work experience over the summer. Sadly, I either received “no’s” or no reply at all. However 2 weeks ago, one of the companies actually did reply 7 months later, inviting me to an interview for a placement starting in January for 3 months. Needless to say, I was very excited!  Unfortunately I was unable to accept the placement, as I am still in the middle of my degree and start the new term again in January. However I was still able to meet up with the head designers a few days ago for an interview.

As I arrived at the studio, I was greeted by one of the head designers, who told me little bit about the company’s history and showed me around. It is a small business that has been around for 4 years run by 2 local designers that specialize in party and elegant evening wear cocktail dresses. In front of the studio, they have a shop where they sell the clothes while downstairs is where the sewing takes place. Some of the tasks interns are typically assigned to do include: sewing, pattern cutting, helping out at photo shoots, selling clothes at the shop etc.

The company recently just presented a collection at fashion week in Warsaw. This was their first ever showcase outside the country, which gave them a chance to push their brand a bit further internationally. In comparison to the major fashion capitals, the Swiss fashion industry is rather small. However in the past several years thanks to events such as Mercedes Benz Fashion Week in Zurich and Mode Swiss, it has slowly but surely emerged into a bigger scene, providing more creative opportunities for local designers.

As I mentioned above that I unfortunately can’t do the placement at the moment, I asked if it might be possible to work for them over the summer instead. They said that if there are any positions open, they will let me know but can’t promise anything. Whatever the future may hold, at the end of the day I was really exited to experience contact with industry professionals. I look forward to do some more Networking after Christmas break, as it is going to be a big part of my course unit next term.

Leave a Reply

