Toiling Poncho

For my outerwear garment, I decided to design a Spring/Summer rain poncho. I started draping off the stand with paper to develop a basic shape. As I mentioned on my previous post, I was inspired by the tropical rainforest and its environment. After creating a basic shape, I further developed the shape and created a leaf type silhouette. The best way for me to do that was to take the paper poncho off the stand and flattened it.  Flattening it made it easier for me to even out the shape and correct the proportions. After I fitted the paper poncho onto an actual person, I noticed that the model wasn’t able to move her arms so freely through the arm holes. I then altered the arm hole and extended it to 30cm. Expanding the arm hole and fitting it onto a second model provided her greater movement. I then decided to create front/back flat patterns and used calico to create my first toile. On the front, I decided to add a design feature, by adding  a double layer where the wearer is able to open up secret pockets. Considering I am designing for a consumer with an urban city  lifestyle, having secret pockets would be a good way to hide valuables and increase the chances of being a pit pocket victim.

Below are images of developing patterns and sewing up the toile:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

