The Feedback

So today the designer we are working for during our live projects stopped by at our studio to check up on us and how we are doing with the project so far. We all had to present finished toiles along with our sketchbook documenting primary/secondary research and design development progress. When I pitched my poncho Idea to the designer, he said that he liked it but encouraged me to explore more experimental options in regards to the zippers. Such as rather than having the zip stitched in a straight line, he suggested to perhaps curve it and the idea of creating new shapes. One piece of advice which I thought was quite insightful was about researching inspirations and trends. He said rather than looking at trend websites to see what the latest trends are, go for the opposite of what everyone else is doing. Say for example if the current trend is skinny jeans, why not create baggy jeans instead. He did make a valid point though. If everyone were to do the same thing, everyone would be competing against each other, making it harder for each person to “sell” their product. However if you were to do something what no one/ hardly anyone else is doing, you would provide yourself a greater platform to get your idea across and sell your product. Overall, I was pleased with the feedback and the advice I have received.

Below are images of the finshied toiles, making, and illustrations. I decided to develop my idea from my first toile a little bit further. I added detachable leave shape halves on the front of the poncho, where if you are able to put the two halves together creating a back pack. The detachable bag would include a pocket with a single jetted zip and bag straps. I also included hidden adjustable sleeves, where the wearer can either choose to wear a hoodie with oversized arms or a sleeveless poncho. One of the things I had to consider before drafting patterns to create my second toile was to make sure that the shoulder seams would sit proportionally line up accordingly. By doing so, I had to drop the neckline by 6cm in the center front and 5.5cm from the center back.

Image Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

IMG-20140423-00416

IMG-20140423-00416

 

Image

Image

 

Leave a Reply

