The Rain Poncho

So today I was able to finally finish my final garment! It took slightly longer than expected though, due to “unforeseen circumstances”, in regards to working with the laminated silk fabric. At the beginning of the week, I started off by cutting the appropriate pattern pieces. Before cutting each piece out however, I had to laminate the surface of the silk using a heat presser. Things I had to consider while laminating include to make sure that the silky fabric didn’t slip of the pressing board. It did that with larger pieces which proved to be quite challenging at times. After placing the fabric, I put the plastic on top of the front side of the fabric and pressed it for 15-30 seconds at 150 degrees. Once the fabric was laminated, it thankfully made pattern cutting so much easier. Toiling with silk was rather difficult, due to the fabric constantly slipping.

However as I mentioned, “unforeseen circumstances” got in the way of finishing my poncho sooner than I had originally planned. The first circumstance was when I incorrectly overlocked the facing of my hood. Rather than making a new one, I decided that I wanted to cover the overlock stitching with by binding it. Unfortunately, the stitching of the binding was rather atrocious and overall just had a really poor finishing. This resulted in me cutting out a new hood pattern anyway…I still can’t get over how it took me 10 hours that day to work on hoods! (WHAT WAS I THINKING??)

The next unfortunate happening occurred when I accidentally pressed a folded surface of the laminated poncho together while ironing away the creases! I sadly had no choice but to peal off the plastic and repress that particular area. Luckily you aren’t able to tell  that the plastic was pealed off and it looks good as new! (THANK GOD)

Even though working with laminated fabric proved to be rather challenging at times, the outcome of the product made the whole manufacturing process worth it! I wouldn’t mind exploring this particular technique in future projects. (3rd year collection?) Tomorrow I will be enjoying the nice sunny weather at a BBQ while at the same time doing a photoshoot for my final piece. Photos of the “BBQ SHOOT” will be on the upcoming blog post. In the meantime, below are images of the finished laminated silk poncho as well as some of its manufacturing process:

Image

Image

Image

Front and Back of Poncho

Image

Image

Failed Hood

Image

Image

Image

Attaching the hood

Image

Ripped Plastic

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Bag Construction

 

Leave a Reply

