Beating The January Blues

I reckon most of us have it by now: The January Blues…
As soon as the festivities have passed and all of a sudden not all is calm, not all is bright anymore, it’s back to reality.

However, I decided to embrace the challenges ahead for this new term to distract myself from the post-Christmas blues. This first week back, I started working on my new concept for my final project by gathering relevant images and laying them out on an A3 sketchbook. One of the things that our tutors encourage us last term was to make sure that we were able to visually communicate our chosen concept effectively. So therefore, it is essential for us to have the right kind of images along with well drawn designs on interesting templates.

I decided to explore the concept revolving the preservation of the natural world. First I began gathering images online and created a digital moodboard on Photoshop that would stimulate the creative process. Aesthetically, I looked into this idea of transparent materials encasing/preserving object from the natural world such as flowers, animals, and food. I did some samples by PVC laminating dried flowers onto mesh and will continue to do some more samples throughout the week.

Unfortunately, these last 6 months of university is going to be quite stressful. So therefore I figured that a positive attitude and working on the kind of concept will help me beat the cold winter blues and get me through the rest of the year.

Within the next week or so, I will be posting more updates about the development of my research and samples. In the meantime, below are concept images:
Concept Page Collage 13

Concept Page Collage 14

Concept Page Collage 12

Concept Page Collage 15

Concept Page Collage 11

Leave a Reply

